Register the Ring! Nominate Fellowship of the Ring for the 2013 National Film Registry

Help Middle Earth News nominate Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring for the National Film Registry!

registerfotr_1

 

The deadline for nominations is September 13, 2013 and they have a sample letter you can use HERE.

Every year since 1989, twenty-five films have been added to the Registry that are deemed “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant.” These films are earmarked for preservation by the Library of Congress. The only other requirement for inclusion on the Registry is that a film must be at least ten years old. After reviewing public suggestions and consulting extensively with film experts and the 44 members and alternates of the National Film Preservation Board, The Librarian of Congress will announce the new selections at the end of December.

How can you help?

First, and most importantly, you can send your recommendations (limit 50 titles per year) via email to: dross@loc.gov. Please include the date of the film nominated (2001 for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring), and number your recommendations.

Second of all… share! Let everyone know about this! Use the hashtag #RegisterFOTR on social media.

Here’s my personal addition when I sent over my nomination:

On a more personal note I would like to add that the Lord of the Rings movie trilogy has changed my life, and still continues to influence it greatly today. I wouldn’t have known the great work of Tolkien without them. They have created a real connection and feeling of community within people from all over the world, I know I have met such lovely people through the Trilogy. All of this has enabled me and given me the courage to travel the world to meet my fellowship and go on adventures. I wish I could express better just what these movies mean to me, and I know many others would say the same. It makes them relevant and timeless, and I really hope the makers and everyone involved with this trilogy receive the full honour and recognition they deserve.

I also nominated TTT, ROTK, The Goonies and Rudy, just some suggestions 😉

One thought on “Register the Ring! Nominate Fellowship of the Ring for the 2013 National Film Registry

Leave a Reply

